Dear reader,
ARFSH is an encyclopedia dedicated to the history of football with its basic points being the detail, depth, veracity in sources contemporary to the events and memories of authorities who reported such events.
This archive was made with the aim of enriching the history of football and the knowledge of readers who seek to know more about its history. Therefore, ARFSH strongly recommends the advertising of the articles, with the intellectual right being credited to the author, in other means of information and sharing.
Share this article. Copy the link and paste it into your football groups, social network, forums, other encyclopedias or any football community of the kind. Help share the information.
Also, to keep the project running and to increase its productivity with new content and more details, if you would like to make a donation, click here to donate.
Isaque Argolo, owner, arfsh.com.
Document | arfsh.com
A document created by arfsh.com for the whole football community
Association Football & The Men Who Made It

Author: Isaque Argolo | Creation Date: 2021-02-02 13:39:11

Data providers: Isaque Argolo.
Published on 01/01/1906, "Association Football & The Men Who Made It" is a series of books which tell the early days of the beautiful game. Both authors, Alfred Gibson & William Pickword, were well-known people inside the whole football atmosphere. William Pickford was mainly known for being a football administrator and cronist for the classic "The Athletic News". Alfred Gibson, on the other hand, was recognized as a journalist for "The Mourning Leader" and "The Football Star". In 1905 both started working on the first volume of the series; the book ended up having four volumes.
The book was very well detailed and contains a large amount of information. They splited the volumes in two different columns: CONTENT & LIST OF ILLUSTRATION. Section IV. Giants of the Game
This section of the book contains general details of the most proeminent players of the day. Both authores managed to create a profile for each player telling general details regarding tecnhical, tactical, physical abilities are mencioned for each player. Volume I.
I. Stephen Bloomer
II. John Goodall
III. Ernest Needham
VI. G.O. Smith
XVI. Vivian Woodward
© arfsh.com & Isaque Argolo 2022. All Rights Reserved.